Any Job Worth Doing Is Worth Doing Well

Even at my age and with my mother being gone several years now, I can still hear her telling me “If you are not going to do it right, don’t do it at all.” I am not sure if this worked out the way she intended it to but, I think because of it I developed a way to get out of doing things around home, “Ma I won’t do it right, you better do it yourself.” I would then wallow in my charm very smugly until dad came home and my abilities miraculously would improve. I know that my mother heard these words from her father because he would tell me the same thing. My grandpa was a hardworking man, and he knew the value of a day’s wages. He was not one to take short cuts. His life was spent as a carpenter and the “Measure twice, cut once” motto was etched into his soul. Once when I was helping him dig footings for the lake cabin, I was complaining about why we had to have everything so perfectly dug, so flat and straight, when all we were going to do is bury it again anyway. His response to me was “If we have to hide our mistakes, maybe we aren’t the men for the job.” By golly, that hit a nerve. I really liked helping grandpa and I loved working at the lake, and I knew when the cabin was finished we would spend a lot of time out there enjoying what Mother Nature offered us. I wanted to do a good job, I wanted to be proud and say that I helped, and I also wanted my grandpa to be able to honestly say that I did a good job, that I met his expectations.

We all choose our occupations, no one forces us to work at a particular place or for a particular person. Sometimes we may feel that we are trapped in a particular place or enslaved by a particular employer, but that too is our choice. We should always strive to do our best at what ever job we have to do. It is said in the bible, Colossians 3:23, “Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord, not for human masters,” New International Version. Are we worthy of the wages we received for the work we did? Did we do a job well enough that we meet the standards of a professional, are we the right person for that job?

Nowhining Banner

Leave a Reply

